Books & Media research events community contribute about
Search the Catalog
My Library Account
Audiobooks & Ebooks
RBDigital Books
Find Books @ AccessPA
Get a Book We Don't Own
Research Databases
Trustworthy Websites
Research Help Guides

Genealogy Research
Talk Live to a Librarian
Events Calendar
Story Hour Schedule
Book Club Schedule
Book Sales
Nazareth Digital History
Meeting Room Policy
Search Other Libraries
Tax Forms & Gov't Info
Employment Assistance
MLNV Pinterest Page
How YOU Can Contribute
Make a Gift
Friends of the Library
Become a Volunteer
Political Advocacy
Strategic Plan
Closings & Holidays

Membership Eligibility
Borrowing Policies
Library Business
Library History

Research Databases

Research databases give you access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles as well as books, book chapters, reference books, images, video and many other sources. When searching the databases outside of the library, you will be prompted to enter your entire 14-digit library barcode number (beginning with 21000...).

Academic Search Main Edition
Academic Search Main Edition
This e-resource is rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. It provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources covering topics like Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Physics, Psychology, Religion & Philosophy, Science & Technology, and more!



Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, and more. This database is only available in the library, not remotely.

BookFLIX
BookFlix

Scholastic BookFlix is a new online literacy resource for grades pre-K - 3 that pairs classic video storybooks from Weston Woods with related nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to help build a love of reading and learning.


Business Source Main Edition
This scholarly business e-resource provides full-text of over 700 magazines and journals and indexing and abstracting for over 2,000.

 


Consumer Health Complete
overall understanding of health-related topics. Content covers all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

 


Contemporary Authors
This e-resource provides access to biographical and bibliographical information on more than 145,000 of today's most influential authors.

 


Cyber Smarts
This interactive e-book collection includes 5 eBooks for grades 3 - 6 and one newly available eBook for teens titled Teen CyberSmarts. CyberSmarts offers users a safe, simulated Internet experience with hands-on instruction on how to deal with important online safety issues.

EBSCO
eBooks on Ebsco
This e-resource provides access to over 16,000 eBooks from the world’s leading publishers across all major subject areas. Perform full-text searches of a single eBook, search thousands of volumes simultaneously, browse topic categories, or read eBooks directly online.


Elementary Student Research
Use this fun, easy-to-use resource that’s powered by EBSCO Explora to discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health, and sports.

Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)
This database is an excellent source for finding information about education related topics. It contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
This online encyclopedia contains 25,000 entries covering a variety of subject areas.


GreenFile
This comprehensive e-resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.


High School Student Research
Use this e-resource to discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics , health, and sports.

Learning Express Library
This database offers online practice tests and computer skills tutorials. Great for job hunters. You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the information that is right for you.


LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
This e-resource indexes more than 700 journals in library science & technology plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960's.


MasterFILE Main Edition
This multidisciplinary e-resource is designed specifically for public libraries providing full text for over 1,300 reference resources, magazines, and journals covering general interest subject areas.

MAS Ultra - School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.


Middle School Student Research
Use this fun, easy-to-use resource that’s powered by EBSCO Explora to discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health, and sports.


Middle Search
Designed for middle school students, this e-resource provides full text access to popular magazines, thousands of biographies and historical essays, and an image collection with over 960,000 photos, maps, and flags.


Newspaper Source Plus
This e-resource provides the latest news with full-text access to over 1,200 U.S. and international newspapers.


Newswires
Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. Newswires includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. Full text content in Newswires is available for the current and prior 30 days.


Pennsylvania Job Resources
POWER Library presents sites provided by PA government entities to help with job resources.



PowerLibrary
This collection of databases allows you to access thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps, reference materials for young people and more. Get ready to find a world of information!  Please enter your library card number or if you do not have a library card, get an eCard now! All Pennsylvania residents are eligible for an ecard.


Primary Search
Designed for elementary school students, Primary Search: Main Edition provides full-text access to popular magazines for elementary school research dating back to 1990.


Public Library Search
Use this fun, easy-to-use resource that’s powered by EBSCO Explora to discover reliable information on thousands of topics covering a wide range of subjects including art and music, literature, language arts, geography, history, social studies, world cultures and languages, science, technology, engineering, mathematics, health, and sports.

Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.


SIRS Discover
SIRS Discoverer is a general reference database for elementary and middle school students, researchers, and educators covering curriculum areas and content sets.


Teacher Reference Center
This e-resource for teachers provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals.


TrueFLIX
The truth. The whole truth. And nothing but the truth about people, places, nature, history, science, and more! TrueFLIX provides eBooks that are enhanced with a related content in a variety of text types and media–including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and related websites.


Web News
Web News provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds covering a range of business and general news topics. Full text can immediately be accessed on the web by following the link in the record.

WorldBook Encyclopedia Online
Includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, images, audio, and video, plus access to current periodicals.