Books & Media Homework Help events games & fun for parents About
Search the Catalog
My Library Account
Tumblebooks 4 Kids
NASD Destiny Catalog
Favorite Stories (ALA)
Get a Book We Don't Own
Online Databases
Homework Help Websites
Library Research Help
Reading Lists (NASD)
Events Calendar
Summer Reading 2014
Story Hour Schedule
Between the Lions (PBS)Nasa Kid's Club
Disney's Blast
Learning Planet
FunBrain
IPL Fun Stuff!
Reading With Your Kids
Parenting Information
Netsmartz (web safety)
Closings & Holidays
Membership Eligibility
Borrowing Policies
Library Business
Library History

Online Databases

You can find newspaper and magazine articles, reference book articles, book chapters, images, video and more in our online databases! Just choose a database from the list below and start searching! If you need help, ask a librarian!

Primary Search
This database provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Searchasaurus
Three popular elementary and middle school databases (Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Book Collection: Nonfiction) can be accessed via Searchasaurus. Searchasaurus offers an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies as they gather information on a wide range of topics. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for students to read and research only appropriately challenging materials.

WorldBook Encyclopedia Online
Includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, images, audio, and video, plus access to current periodicals.

Kids Search
This searching interface was designed specifically for elementary/middle school students according to their needs and search abilities. Kids Search makes it easier for students to look for their subjects of interest by automatically searching across all relevant databases simultaneously.

PowerLibrary

This collection of databases allows you to access thousands of full text periodical articles, newspapers, a major encyclopedia, plus photographs, pictures, charts, maps, reference materials for young people and more. Get ready to find a world of information!  Please enter your library card number or if you do not have a library card, get an eCard now! All Pennsylvania residents are eligible for an ecard.



For older elementary school students:

Middle Search Plus
This database provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.

MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily.

Newspaper Source
This database provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

GreenFILE
This database offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

 


ENTER YOUR EMAIL address to receive library news & updates:
For Email Newsletters you can trust

Hours

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 10am - 8pm
Wednesday 10am - 8pm
Thursday 10am - 8pm
Friday 10am - 5pm
Saturday 10am - 5pm*
Sunday Closed

* July & Aug: 10am - 2pm

Borrowed Items are Due at Closing.

Contact Us

295 East Center Street
Nazareth, PA 18064
Map It!

610-759-4932 phone
610-759-9513 fax

www.nazarethlibrary.org
nazlib1@nazarethlibrary.org